Austria's biggest film festival once again offers film highlights from around the world from 19 October to 2 November. An homage is dedicated to the director of the Viennale, Hans Hurch, who passed away this year. Also in focus are Soviet and new Neapolitan cinema.

Each year, the Viennale brings the latest feature, documentary and short films to Vienna from around the world. Among them are many unknowns, unusual discoveries, as well as great films that have already been shown at the film festivals in Venice, including "Hanna" by Andrea Pallaoro with Charlotte Rampling and "Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" by Martin McDonagh with Frances McDormand. Austrian cinema is also represented, including with Barbara Albert's movie "Licht", which has already been rapturously received at the film festival in Locarno. The Austrian actor Georg Friedrich shines in the German-Norwegian co-production "Helle Nächte" [Bright Nights].

An homage entitled "14 friends, 14 films" is dedicated to Hans Hurch, the director of the Viennale, who passed away suddenly this year in July. The special "Napoli! Napoli!" shows the creation of new Neapolitan cinema at the end of the 1980s/beginning of the 1990s, which presents a different Naples from the picture postcard idyll usually found in the movies. The retrospective "Utopia and Correction" focuses on Soviet cinema between 1926 and 1977. The Austrian silent movie star Carmen Cartellieri is also the focus of a special. The screened silent movies from the 1920s are accompanied by live music.

The Viennale is always a showplace for popular parties and premieres. These are mostly held in the festival headquarters (location to be announced).

Viennale. 19 October - 2 November 2017
Various cinemas in Vienna
The full Viennale program can be download online from 10 October:


Follow us

MENU

Viennale

Österreichs größtes Filmfestival bietet von 19. Oktober bis 2. November wieder Film-Highlights aus aller Welt. Hans Hurch, dem heuer verstorbenen Direktor der Viennale, ist eine Hommage gewidmet. Im Fokus stehen auch das sowjetische und das neue neapolitanische Kino.

Jedes Jahr bringt die Viennale aktuelle Spiel-, Dokumentar- und Kurzfilme aus aller Welt nach Wien. Darunter viel Unbekanntes, ungewöhnliche Entdeckungen, aber auch große Filme, die bereits bei den Filmfestspielen in Venedig gelaufen sind, darunter "Hannah" von Andrea Pallaoro mit Charlotte Rampling und „Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri“ von Martin McDonagh mit Frances McDormand. Das österreichische Kino ist ebenfalls vertreten, u.a. mit Barbara Alberts Film „Licht“, der bereits beim Filmfestival in Locarno begeistert aufgenommen wurde. Der österreichische Schauspieler Georg Friedrich glänzt in der deutsch-norwegischen Koproduktion „Helle Nächte“.

Dem heuer im Juli überraschend verstorbenen Direktor der Viennale – Hans Hurch – ist eine Hommage unter dem Titel „14 Freunde, 14 Filme“ gewidmet. Das Special „Napoli! Napoli!“ zeigt die Entstehung des neuen neapolitanischen Kinos Ende der 1980er/Anfang der 1990er-Jahre, das ein Neapel abseits vom bisher im Film vorherrschenden Postkartenidyll präsentiert. Die Retrospektive „Utopie und Korrektur“ hat das sowjetische Kino zwischen 1926 und 1977 zum Inhalt. Der österreichische Stummfilmstar Carmen Cartellieri steht ebenfalls im Fokus eines Specials. Die gezeigten Stummfilme aus den 1920ern werden von Live-Musik begleitet.

Die Viennale ist auch immer Schauplatz beliebter Partys und Premierenfeiern. Diese finden zum Großteil in der Festivalzentrale statt (Location wird noch bekannt gegeben).

Viennale - 19.10.-2.11.2017
Diverse Kinos in Wien
Das vollständige Viennale-Programm ist ab 10. Oktober online abrufbar:
www.viennale.at
Vorverkauf ab 14. Oktober 2017

Im 2. Stock ist eine kleine Innenhofterrasse die sehr nett gestaltet ist, vor dem Hotel sind ebenfalls Sitzmöglichkeiten.

18.Juni/ booking.com

HOTEL AUSTRIA WIEN

Follow us