MENU

Music Film Festival at City Hall Square

Starting on June 29, Vienna's City Hall Square will once again become a popular meeting place for night owls and music lovers for 65 days: at nightfall, the crowd can look forward to a select program of music ranging from opera and ballet to jazz and pop. Refreshments will be available in the form of culinary treats from around the world.

Every year, the Music Film Festival on Vienna's City Hall Square thrills 900,000 visitors, making it one of the most enticing offers in Vienna during the summer. Over 5,200 seats are available with free admission. The 300 m² open-air screen and a sound system with room simulation ensure maximum acoustic quality and pure music enjoyment on the entire square. Something to suit every taste is also offered by the music film program and the 26 or so international leading gastronomers on site.

The milestone anniversary being celebrated by the Vienna State Opera this year is the focal point of the Music Film Festival program. The opening weekend gets off to a sparkling start: the time-delayed live broadcast of the opera Aida on June 29 and the time-delayed live broadcast of the production Othellofrom the State Opera herald the opening of an incomparable festival season.

In addition to highlights from the world of classical music, such as Madame Butterfly, Carmen, Der Rosenkavalier or Das Land des Lächelns, there are also concert recordings by pop stars and music legends such as Ed Sheeran, Amy Winehouse, Nena, Eric Clapton and Sting.

As part of the music festival on the Rathausplatz (City Hall Square), on August 31, 2019 – exactly 70 years after its worldwide premiere – “The Third Man” will be shown on the big screen in front of Vienna’s City Hall: a fabulous opportunity for avid fans of the movie, or for anyone who has not yet seen this masterpiece.

29th Music Film Festival 2019, June 29 - September 1, 2019
Admission is free!
Information and program: www.filmfestival-rathausplatz.at
Film starts: daily at nightfall, International cuisine: 11.00 am - 12.00 midnight

HOTEL AUSTRIA WIEN

Follow us

MENU

Musikfilm-Festival am Rathausplatz

Ab dem 29. Juni wird der Wiener Rathausplatz wieder 65 Tage lang zum beliebten Treffpunkt für Nachtschwärmer und Musikliebhaber: Nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit erwartet das Publikum ein ausgewähltes Musikprogramm von Oper über Ballett bis Jazz und Pop. Kulinarisches aus aller Welt sorgt für den leiblichen Genuss.

Jährlich begeistert das Musikfilm-Festival am Wiener Rathausplatz 900.000 Besucher und zählt damit zu den attraktivsten Angeboten im sommerlichen Wien. Bei freiem Eintritt stehen 5.200 Sitzplätze zur Verfügung. Die 300 m² große Open-Air-Leinwand sowie ein Soundsystem mit Raumsimulation sorgen für höchste akustische Qualität und ungetrübten Musikgenuss auf dem ganzen Platz. Etwas für jeden Geschmack bietet sowohl das genreübergreifende Musikfilm-Programm als auch die rund 26 internationalen Top-Gastronomen vor Ort.

Das runde Jubiläum, das die Wiener Staatsoper heuer feiert, ist Programm-Schwerpunkt des Musikfilm-Festivals. Fulminant startet bereits das Eröffnungswochenende: Die zeitversetzte Liveübertragung der Oper Aida am 29. Juni und die ebenfalls zeitversetzte Liveübertragung der Produktion Otello aus der Staatsoper bilden den Auftakt zu einer unvergleichlichen Festivalsaison.
Neben Highlights aus der Welt der Klassik wie Madame Butterfly, Carmen, Der Rosenkavalier oder Das Land des Lächelns sind auch Konzertmitschnitte von Popstars und Musiklegenden wie Ed Sheeran, Amy Winehouse, Nena, Eric Clapton oder Sting zu sehen.

Im Rahmen des Musikfilmfestivals am Rathausplatz wird am 31. August 2019 – exakt 70 Jahre nach der Weltpremiere – "Der dritte Mann" auf der großen Leinwand vor dem Wiener Rathaus gezeigt. – die beste Gelegenheit für eingefleischte Fans des Films oder für jene, die das Meisterwerk noch nie gesehen haben.

29. Musikfilm-Festival 2019, 29.6.-1.9.2019
Eintritt frei!
Info und Programm: www.filmfestival-rathausplatz.at
Filmbeginn: täglich bei Einbruch der Dunkelheit, Internationale Gastronomie: 11-24 Uhr

Besonders freundlich. Herrlicher cafe.

November/ booking.com

HOTEL AUSTRIA WIEN

Follow us